Aurora Orchestra

Since its creation in 2005, Aurora Orchestra has rapidly established itself as the most significant new British chamber orchestra in a generation, and one of Europe’s leading chamber orchestras, combining electrifying live performance with a uniquely creative approach to programming and presentation. Under the artistic direction of Principal Conductor Nicholas Collon, Aurora has developed flourishing London series at LSO St Luke’s and Kings Place, and also appears regularly at other major venues including Southbank Centre, Wigmore Hall, Barbican and the Royal Albert Hall. The orchestra enjoys an increasingly busy touring calendar both in the UK and internationally, and has worked with a roster of world-class artists across multiple art forms, ranging from Ian Bostridge, Anthony Marwood and Angelika Kirchschlager to Wayne McGregor, Michael Clark and Edmund de Waal.

Notable highlights include tours to Bremen, Shanghai, Melbourne, St Petersburg and Brazil and a major new series for the Southbank Centre in 2013 as part of its year-long festival of twentieth-century music The Rest is Noise. Based at Kings Place since 2009, the orchestra has played a central role in each of the venue’s year-long ‘Unwrapped’ series, and was formally installed as the Kings Place Resident Orchestra in 2013. It has developed a particular reputation for collaboration across art forms, focused particularly around ‘New Moves’ at LSO St Luke’s — a pioneering ‘Orchestral Theatre’ series infused with eclectic programming, innovative presentation, and inspiring artistic partnerships ranging across dance, film, visual arts and theatre. Aurora is the youngest-ever recipient of the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Ensemble Award — the UK’s most prestigious award for live classical music.

Player list (Michael Gordon's Gotham)

Nicholas Collon

Flute/Piccolo/Alto Flute
Jane Mitchell
Emilia Zakrzewska

Peter Sparks
Thomas Lessels
Nicolas Fleury
Tim Anderson

Simon Cox
Huw Morgan
David Geoghegan

Robb Tooley
Matthew Knight

John Reid

Henry Baldwin
Chris Baron

Electric Guitar
Huw Davies

Bass Guitar
Dave Brown

Violin 1
Ania Safonova (leader)
Emily Davis
Catrin Win Morgan
Naoko Keatley
Alex Afia
Ben Roskams
Violin 2
Jamie Campbell
Helena Nicholls
Hannah Dawson
Tom Hankey
Charlotte Reid

Max Baillie
Morgan Goff
Robin Ashwell
Meghan Cassidy

Oliver Coates
Sarah McMahon
Jonathan Rees
Cara Berridge
Double Bass
Ben Griffiths
Becky Welsh