Los Angeles Philharmonic

The LOS ANGELES PHILHARMONIC, under the vibrant leadership of Music Director Gustavo Dudamel, is invested in a tradition of the new, through a commitment to foundational works and adventurous explorations. Both at home and abroad, the Philharmonic – recognized as one of the world’s outstanding orchestras – is leading the way in ground-breaking programming, both on stage and in the community, offering a diverse range of programs that reflect the orchestra’s artistry and demonstrates its vision. 2015/16 marks the orchestra’s 97th season.

More than 250 concerts are either performed or presented by the Philharmonic at its two iconic venues: the Frank Gehry-designed Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Hollywood Bowl. These presentations represent a breadth and depth unrivaled by other orchestras or cultural institutions.

During its 30-week winter subscription season of more than 240 performances at Walt Disney Concert Hall, the LA Phil creates festivals, artist residencies, and other thematic programs designed to enhance the symphonic music experience and delve further into certain artists’ or composers’ work. The organization’s commitment to the music of our time is also evident throughout the season programming, as well as in the exhilarating Green Umbrella series and the LA Phil’s extensive commissioning initiatives.


Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director (Walt and Lilly Disney Chair)
Esa-Pekka Salonen, Conductor Laureate
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, Assistant Conductor
John Adams, Creative Chair
Deborah Borda, President and Chief Executive Officer

First Violins

Martin Chalifour, Principal Concertmaster (Marjorie Connell Wilson Chair)
Alexander Treger, Concertmaster (Ernest Fleischmann Chair)
Bing Wang, Associate Concertmaster
Mark Baranov, Assistant Concertmaster (Philharmonic Affiliates Chair)
Tamara Chernyak
Michele Bovyer
Rochelle Abramson
Camille Avellano
Elizabeth Baker
Robert Vijay Gupta
Mischa Lefkowitz
Edith Markman
Judith Mass
Mitchell Newman
Barry Socher
Lawrence Sonderling*
Stacy Wetzel
Lorenz Gamma †
Cheryl Norman-Brick †
Searmi Park †

Second Violins

Lyndon Johnston Taylor*, Principal (Dorothy Rossel Lay Chair)
Mark Kashper, Associate Principal
Kristine Whitson
Johnny Lee
Dale Breidenthal
David Chernyavsky
Ingrid Chun
Chao-Hua Jin
Nickolai Kurganov
Guido Lamell
Varty Manouelian
Paul Stein
Yun Tang
Jonathan Wei
Suli Xue
Shen Yeh †
Ashoka Thiagarajan †


Principal (vacant) (John Connell Chair)
Dale Hikawa Silverman, Associate Principal
Arthur Royval, Assistant Principal
Jerry Epstein
Richard Elegino
Dana Hansen
Ingrid Hutman
Hui Liu
Meredith Snow
David Stockhammer
Leticia Oaks Strong
Minor L. Wetzel
Robert Brophy †
Elizabeth Wilson †


Peter Stumpf, Principal (Bram and Elaine Goldsmith Chair)
Daniel Rothmuller, Associate Principal (Sadie and Norman Lee Chair)
Ben Hong, Assistant Principal
Jonathan Karoly
Stephen Custer
David Garrett
Barry Gold
Jason Lippmann
Gloria Lum
Serge Oskotsky
Brent Samuel
Peter Snyder


Dennis Trembly, Principal
Christopher Hanulik, Principal
Oscar M. Meza, Assistant Principal
David Allen Moore
Jack Cousin
Richard D. Kelley
Peter Rofé
John Schiavo
Frederick Tinsley

Principal (vacant) (Mr. and Mrs. H. Russell Smith Chair)
Catherine Ransom Karoly
Sarah Jackson
Diane Alancraig †
Lawrence Kaplan †

Sarah Jackson

Ariana Ghez, Principal
Marion Arthur Kuszyk, Associate Principal
Anne Marie Gabriele
Carolyn Hove

English Horn
Carolyn Hove

Michele Zukovsky, Principal
Lorin Levee, Principal
Monica Kaenzig (Mauk/Nunis Chair)
David Howard
Michael Grego †

E-flat Clarinet
Monica Kaenzig

Bass Clarinet
David Howard

David Breidenthal, Principal
Shawn Mouser, Associate Principal
Michele Grego
Patricia Kindel

Patricia Kindel

William Lane, Principal
Eric Overholt, Associate Principal
Elizabeth Cook-Shen (William and Sally Rutter Chair)
Brian Drake (Loring Charitable Trust Chair)
Bruce Hudson
Robert Watt, Assistant Principal (Bud and Barbara Hellman Chair)
Brad Warnaar †

Donald Green, Principal
James Wilt, Associate Principal
Christopher Still
Boyde Hood

Steven Witser, Principal
James Miller, Associate Principal (Abbott and Linda Brown Chair)
Herbert Ausman

Norman Pearson (Minturn Family Foundation Chair)

Timpani and Percussion
Raynor Carroll, Principal
James Babor
Perry Dreiman
Chester Englander †
Kenneth McGrath †
Nicholas Stoup †

Joanne Pearce Martin (Katharine Bixby Hotchkis Chair)
Vicki Ray †

Lou Anne Neill
Amy Shulman †

James Rotter †

Electric Bass Guitar
Michael Valerio †

Kazue Asawa McGregor
Kenneth Bonebrake
Stephen Biagini

Personnell Manager
Jeffrey Neville

Conducting Fellows
Christian Kluxen
Gemma New

*on sabbatical
† guest musicians
The musicians of the Los Angeles Philharmonic are represented by Professional Musicians Local 47, AFM.


Recording Engineer: Fred Vogler
Audio Crew at Walt Disney Concert Hall: Kevin F. Wapner, Randy Piotroski, Robert Schraut, Leland Alexander, David Crawford
LA Phil Project Manager: Chris Ayzoukian
Recorded in Walt Disney Concert Hall, January 12 & 13, 2008