More Field Recordings


...where found sound, samples, and archival audio collide with contemporary classical music.

This is the second, and perhaps more aggressively experimental, installment in the Bang on Can All-Stars’ acclaimed commissioned composer series. Like its predecessor, More Field Recordings once again explores strange new terrain where found sound, samples, and archival audio collide with contemporary classical music, written by a wide range of artists and performed by the All-Stars.

In keeping with the “ground rules” of the Field Recordings project, each composer was asked to go into the field of recorded sound itself — to find something old or record something new, and to respond with their own music, in dialogue with what they found. Featuring new works by Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Caroline ShawAnna ThorvaldsdottirDan DeaconBen FrostGlenn Kotche and more, this two-disc set embraces the classical and electronic influences of the first Field Recordings collection (released on Cantaloupe in 2015) and extends its reach into an adventurous palette of sound that includes ambient textures, off-kilter dissonance and electro-acoustic forays into the unknown.


Bang on a Can All‑Stars
More Field Recordings
CD / Digital
Release Date: 

Package design: Russell Mills

track listing:


01  Caroline Shaw Really Craft When You (7:02)
02  Gabriella Smith Panitao (4:21)
03  Jace Clayton Lethe’s Children (4:41)
04  Paula Matthusen the ontology of an echo (5:49)
05  Glenn Kotche Time Spirals (6:32)
06  Zhang Shouwang Courtyards in Central Beijing (5:43)
07  Nico Muhly Comfortable Cruising Altitude (4:40)


01  Ben Frost Negative Ghostrider (7:49)
02  Richard Reed Parry The Brief and Neverending Blur (5:08)
03  Anna Thorvaldsdottir Fields (5:41)
04  Dan Deacon Sago An Ya Rev (6:04)
05  Juan Felipe Waller Hybrid Ambiguities (6:18)
06  René Lussier Nocturnal (6:35)